Skip to main content


Elizabeth O’Neill Journalism Award

The Elizabeth O'Neill Journalism Award commemorates the distinguished career of Elizabeth O'Neill OAM who died in service of the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade in Indonesia on 7 March 2007. The award builds on her tireless work to foster mutual understanding of Australia and Indonesia through accurate and informed media coverage.

The Elizabeth O'Neill Journalism Award is awarded to one journalist from Indonesia and one from Australia each year. The award is open to high-achieving journalists from print, radio, television and online media organisations at any stage of their career.


Award recipients spend up to two weeks in Indonesia/Australia on a fully funded program coordinated by the Australia-Indonesia Institute of the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade and supported by the Australian Embassy in Jakarta. Programs for successful candidates are developed to build a stronger understanding and appreciation of the broad range of issues facing contemporary Indonesia and Australia.

Programs are tailored to the journalist's area of expertise and reporting responsibilities in such areas as foreign and trade policy, development assistance, people-to-people links and education and include a stay in the country's capital city (Jakarta/Canberra) with visits to at least another province/state/territory of the country visited.

During a typical program meetings may include:

  • local media organisations, both commercial and government-owned
  • a reciprocal visit to the employer of the host country participant
  • academic institutions, including those with specialist journalism and communications courses
  • media industry regulators and umbrella organisations
  • government and parliamentary officials and access to ministers (where possible)
  • leading civil society and NGO figures.

Award conditions

The award covers:

  • business class international airfares and domestic transfers from the participant's home city
  • accommodation, internal transport, vaccinations, visas, travel insurance and meal allowances.

The award does not cover the cost of travel for dependents, translators, a cameraperson or other technical support people; additional baggage or other airline offerings. Successful applicants must have an up-to-date passport with at least six months validity from date of departure.

The Minister for Foreign Affairs, Senator the Hon Penny Wong announced that the 2023 Elizabeth O'Neill Journalism Award recipients are Sarah Dingle of Australia and Yunita Tandililing of Indonesia on 11 May 2023.

Ms Dingle is a Senior Reporter of the Australian Broadcasting Corporation's Radio National Breakfast program and a dual Walkley Award winner.

Ms Tandililing is a Lead Producer at Kompas TV with over 15 years' experience in broadcast media.

Back to top