Skip to main content



Australia engages with regional and international trade and investment organisations to boost our economy by promoting and protecting trade and investment opportunities. Australia participates in the World Trade Organization (WTO), G20, the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) and The Indo-Pacific Economic Framework (IPEF).

World Trade Organization

The World Trade Organization (WTO) is an international body that determines international trade rules. A series of WTO multilateral agreements set legal rules for international trade in goods and services and intellectual property. Australia has been a Member of the WTO since its founding in 1995.



The Group of Twenty (G20) is the premier international forum for cooperation on global economic governance. Leaders of member nations meet annually at the G20 Summit, working together to build a resilient global financial system and to promote strong, sustainable, balanced and inclusive growth.

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development

The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) produces independent analysis and statistics to promote economic and social wellbeing across the globe. Since 1971, Australia has worked with the OECD and member governments with shared goals of innovation, productivity and competitiveness, enabling trade and investment.

Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation

Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) is an economic forum of 21 Asia-Pacific economies, which make up over half of global GDP. Australia became a founding member of APEC in 1989 to develop regional economic relationships to boost our growth. Over 70 per cent of our trade in goods and services is with APEC partners. Australia has helped advance regional economic integration and move towards the goal of free and open trade and investment in Asia-Pacific.

Indo-Pacific Economic Framework

The Indo-Pacific Economic Framework (IPEF) is a mechanism to build cooperation and economic integration in the Indo-Pacific. On 23 May 2022, Australia joined the United States and other partner countries in launching IPEF. Australia is working with our regional partners to develop an innovative framework, covering a range of priority trade and investment issues.

Back to top