Skip to main content

Australia-Indonesia Institute Board Members

Board Members


Associate Professor Greg Fealy AM

Associate Professor Greg Fealy AM (Board Chair)

Associate Professor Fealy teaches at the College of Asia and Pacific at the Australian National University in the School of Culture, History and Language and the School of International, Political and Strategic Studies. Associate Professor Fealy was appointed Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for services to tertiary education and Australia-Indonesia relations in 2021. He researches Indonesian politics, modern Islamic political history, democratisation, Islamism and jihadist ideology and strategy. Associate Professor Fealy also regularly advises governments, international organisations and businesses on Indonesia and Islam in Indonesia.

He has previously lectured in Indonesian politics at Johns Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies in Washington DC and at Monash University. Associate Professor Fealy was formerly an Indonesia analyst with the Australian Government.


Lydia Santoso

Ms Lydia Santoso

Ms Santoso is a senior associate at Nicholas George Lawyers and the former President of the NSW chapter of the Australia Indonesia Business Council. She is an Australian qualified lawyer and Public Notary. Ms Santoso has Indonesian-Australian heritage, is fluent in Indonesian and has worked in law firms in Sydney and Jakarta. She has extensive connections to the Indonesian business community in Sydney, including the Consulate General of the Republic of Indonesia, Indonesian property developers, Australian businesses with interests in Indonesia and many Indonesians living in Australia.



Ms Elena Williams

Ms Williams is a higher education consultant with over ten years' experience living and working in Indonesia. Between 2013 – 2017 she served as the Resident Director for The Australian Consortium for 'In-Country' Indonesian Studies (ACICIS), a not-for-profit organisation facilitating study programs for undergraduate students in Indonesia. In 2020 she commenced doctoral research at The Australian National University examining the long-term impact of DFAT's New Colombo Plan and other education initiatives on the Australia-Indonesia relationship.

Ms Williams holds a Masters of Applied Anthropology and Participatory Development from The Australian National University, and an Honours degree in Indonesian Studies from The University of Sydney. She regularly volunteers as an 'Asian Literacy Ambassador' with the Asia Education Foundation, a mentor with the Australia-Indonesia Youth Association, and is an alumni of the Australia-Indonesia Youth Exchange Program.


Ms Tracey Hayes

Ms Hayes is an experienced Chief Executive Officer/Director/Board Member with a demonstrated history of working in the agriculture sector at a local, national and international level. Former CEO of the Northern Territory Cattlemen’s Association, Ms. Hayes is a strong business development professional with considerable Asian engagement experience, including Indonesia. Ms. Hayes is a member of the Order of Australia Honours council, Chair of a Government Statutory Authority, board member of the Cooperative Research Centre for Northern Australia and a partner of the Indonesia Australia Red Meat and Cattle Partnership. She is currently studying a Global Executive Masters of Business.

Voted in 2016 as Northern Territory’s most influential person by News Ltd, and named one of Australia’s 100 Women of Influence, Ms Hayes champions women in leadership with a particular focus on agriculture.


Professor Nicholas Anstey

Professor Anstey is a medical doctor and tropical disease researcher at Darwin’s Menzies School of Health Research. He led a multi-centre malaria clinical trial in collaboration with counterparts in Indonesia, Malaysia and across the Asia-Pacific and Africa. This trial established for the first time that artesunate, derived from the herb wormwood, is more effective than quinine in saving lives of patients with severe malaria.

Professor Anstey has held a number of grants from the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC), and in 2009 was named one of the NHMRC’s ‘Ten of the Best’.


Ms Noni Purnomo

Ms Purnomo is the President Director (CEO) of the Blue Bird Group focusing on corporate strategy, public relations, communications, business process improvements, quality control, marketing, and information technology. Ms Purnomo is also President of Blue Bird Peduli, a philanthropic division of the Blue Bird Group which launched the 'Women Empowerment Project'. Voted as one of 2015’s Power Business Women in Asia by Forbes Asia.

Ms Purnomo has a Bachelor of Engineering Degree and a Master of Business Administration in Finance and Marketing.


Ms Katrina Cooper (ex-officio)

Ms Cooper currently serves as the Deputy Secretary Southeast Asia and Global Partners Group in the Department of Foreign Affairs & Trade. She also serves as Australia’s ASEAN and East Asia Summit Senior Official.

Ms Cooper is an international lawyer and is also admitted to legal practice in the ACT. Her career has included a significant focus on international and domestic law including as DFAT’s most senior legal advisor (2013-2017).

Her overseas assignments have included Ambassador to Mexico (2008-2012) and Deputy Head of Mission in Washington (2017-2021).

She has a strong commitment to diversity and was the architect and driver of the award winning initiative on Women in Leadership at the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade.

Back to top