Skip to main content


Decorative image

Singapore-Australia FTA


The Singapore-Australia Free Trade Agreement (SAFTA) is the central pillar of the economic relationship with Singapore, Australia's largest trade and investment partner in South-East Asia.

In addition to tariff elimination, the Agreement improves market access for Australian exporters of services, particularly education, environmental, telecommunications, and professional services. It also provides a more open and predictable business environment across a range of areas, including competition policy, government procurement, intellectual property, digital trade, customs procedures and business travel.

SAFTA entered into force on 28 July 2003 with subsequent amendments entering into force on 24 February 2006, 13 February 2007, 11 October 2007, 2 September 2011, 1 December 2017, and 8 December 2020.

Singapore is also a party to the ASEAN‑Australia‑New Zealand Free Trade Agreement (AANZFTA), the Regional Comprehensive Partnership Agreement (RCEP), and the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP).

Key outcomes and benefits

  • Elimination of all tariffs from entry into force.
  • Financial service providers can now provide a range of financial services on a cross-border basis to Singapore, including investment advice and portfolio management services.
  • Conditions eased on establishment of joint ventures involving Australian law firms and number of Australian law degrees recognised in Singapore doubled from 4 to 8.
  • Removal/easing of residency requirements for Australian professionals and short-term entry for Australian business people extended from one month to two years.
  • Agreement to facilitate paperless trading and self-certification in order to reduce business transaction costs.
Back to top