Skip to main content


Pacer plus decorative banner

Pacific Agreement on Closer Economic Relations Plus

The Pacific Agreement on Closer Economic Relations Plus (PACER+) is a development-centred free trade agreement.

PACER+ entered into force on 13 December 2020. New Zealand, Australia, Samoa, Kiribati, Tonga, Solomon Islands, Niue and Cook Islands are Parties to the Agreement. Nauru, Tuvalu and Vanuatu have signed the agreement but have not ratified.

PACER+ is an important part of Australia's engagement in the Pacific and provides an avenue to help foster a secure, stable and prosperous region. PACER+ will provide commercial opportunities for Australian exporters and investors in a range of sectors. These opportunities will increase over time as the provisions of the Agreement lead to more open and transparent policies, and as wider relationships are built regionally and beyond.


Back to top