Skip to main content

The G20

The G20

World map with G20 member countries highlighted.

The Group of Twenty (G20) is an important multilateral forum for global economic cooperation. The members of the G20 are: Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, the United Kingdom, the United States, and the European Union.

The G20 is the international forum that brings together the world's major economies. Its members account for more than 80 percent of world GDP, 75 percent of global trade and 60 percent of the population of the planet.
The forum has met every year since 1999 and since 2008 has included a yearly Leaders' Summit, with the participation of the respective Heads of State and Government.
In addition to the Summit, ministerial meetings, Sherpa meetings (in charge of carrying out negotiations and building consensus among Leaders), working groups and special events are organised throughout the year.

Australia and the G20

Australia supports a strong and effective G20 – it is an important multilateral forum in delivering coordinated international economic policy responses. Australia work collaboratively and constructively with the G20 and G20 economies to support an open, global economy and the rules-based multilateral trading system. In response to COVID-19, Australia and other G20 economies are also focussing on the need to support global economic and health responses to the pandemic.


Back to top