Skip to main content

Sanctions regimes

Australian sanction laws implement United Nations Security Council (UNSC) sanctions regimes and Australian autonomous sanctions regimes.

The sanctions regimes currently implemented under Australian sanction laws are shown in the diagram below:

Venn Diagram showing a list of division of UNSC Sanctions, Australian autonomous sanctions and both. UNSC Sanctions apply to Al Quaida, Central African Republic, Counter-terrorism, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eritrea, Guinea-Bissau, Iraq, Lebanon, Liberia, Mali, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, the Taliban and Yemen. Australian autonomous sanctions apply to Burma, Former Yugoslavia, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Zimbabwe. Both types of sanctions apply to Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Iran and Libya.

* Also includes UNSC sanctions in relation to the protection of cultural heritage In Iraq and Syria.


Detailed information about the particular sanctions measures imposed by a particular sanctions regime:

Last Updated: 19 June 2014
Back to top