Skip to main content

Australia and sanctions

Sanctions regimes currently implemented under Australian sanction law

Australian sanction laws implement United Nations Security Council (UNSC) sanctions regimes and Australian autonomous sanctions regimes.

The sanctions regimes currently implemented under Australian sanction laws are:

United Nations Security Council Sanctions

  • Central African Republic
  • Counter-Terrorism
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Iraq
  • ISIL (Da'esh) and Al-Qaida
  • Lebanon
  • Somalia
  • South Sudan
  • Sudan
  • The Taliban
  • Yemen

Australian Autonomous Sanctions

Country or former country

  1. Former Federal Republic of Yugoslavia
  2. Myanmar
  3. Russia/Ukraine
  4. Zimbabwe


  • Proliferation of weapons of mass destruction
  • Significant cyber incidents
  • Serious violations or serious abuses of human rights
  • Serious corruption


  • Democratic People’s Republic of Korea
  • Iran
  • Libya
  • Syria
Back to top