Skip to main content


Board members


Mr Peter Coleman

Peter Coleman

Reappointed 11 December 2019 for five years

Mr Peter Coleman was the former CEO and Managing Director of Woodside, Australia's largest independent oil and gas company. Mr Coleman has 30 years’ experience in the dynamic and highly competitive global oil and gas industry, successfully executing business across six continents. Mr Coleman has played an important role in providing energy security, job opportunities and economic development in some of the world's poorest communities. During his time in Indonesia from 2004-2008 he led significant humanitarian efforts to support victims of the tsunami in Aceh province and provide relief to victims of the Jogjakarta earthquake.

In 2011 Mr Coleman was selected to take over the reins at Woodside, a company with long-term business links in Korea, and significant buyer relationships in Japan and China. Mr Coleman has transitioned Woodside towards a values-led company with an increasingly global outlook.

Mr Coleman’s strategic approach to growing Woodside's business in an increasingly competitive global market is recognised within the industry and beyond, including through an honorary Adjunct Professorship in Corporate Strategy from the University of Western Australia and a Distinguished Alumni Lifetime Achievement Award from Monash University.

On 2 May 2022, the Korean Ambassador to Australia, Kang Jeong-sik, presented Mr Coleman with the Order of Diplomatic Service Merit (Heungin Medal) in recognition of his service in promoting bilateral relations between Australia and Korea.


Ms Jacinta Thompson

Ms Jacinta Thompson

Appointed 1 August 2021 for three years

Ms Jacinta Thompson is the Executive Director of The Bob Hawke Prime Ministerial Centre, University of South Australia. Prior to joining UniSA in 2014, Ms Thompson was the Artistic Director of the OzAsia Festival, Adelaide Festival Centre from 2007, where she worked closely with numerous Korean artists, companies, and producers to present an array of dynamic Korean arts as part of the OzAsia Festival.

Ms Thompson was the Executive Producer for the Adelaide Cabaret Festival from 2003-2006. She has previously worked as the Education Manager for Sydney Theatre Company, Regional Arts Victoria and the 1994 and 1996 Adelaide Fringe Festivals. Ms Thompson was also a Program Manager of the 1998 and 2000 Adelaide Festival of Arts and Operations Manager for the 1995 and 1997 Come Out Youth Arts Festival. In 1998, Jacinta spent 15 months living in Majuro, Marshall Islands as an Australian Volunteer International working as a Management Trainer with Youth to Youth in Health

Ms Thompson was also awarded an Asialink Arts Management Residency and spent 6months working in Programming at the Esplanade Theatres on the Bay, Singapore where she collaborated with Teamwork Arts, India in presenting the Esplanade's annual Indian Festival, Kalaa Utsavam and Malay Festival, Pesta Raya. In early 2017, she joined forces again with Teamwork Arts as a Venue Manager and MC for the Jaipur Literature Festival, India.

Jacinta is a UniSA alumnus with a Graduate Diploma in Management (Arts and Cultural Management). She has previously served on the Adelaide Film Festival Board and on the steering committee of The Asia Pacific Centre for Arts and Cultural Leadership and is a member of the Association for Asia Pacific Performing Arts Centres (AAPPAC).


Associate Professor Ruth Barraclough

Associate Professor Ruth Barraclough

Reappointed 1 August 2021 for three years

Ruth Barraclough is Director of the Korea Institute and teaches at the College of Asia and the Pacific at the Australian National University. She researches contemporary Korean history, gender studies and literature, and is a translator of Korean literary fiction. A/Professor Barraclough second book Factory Girl Literature was translated into Korean in 2017 and spent 20 weeks on the history bestseller list, receiving numerous recommendations: nominated for the President's summer reading list by South Korea's leading book and newspaper editors and named one of the top ten books of 2017 by Kyunghyang Shinmun.

A/Professor Barraclough has studied and worked in South Korea, Australia, and the United States. Her new project is a book, co-authored with Professor Jiseung Roh, on Korea's glamorous early communist women. A/Professor Barraclough grew up in Queensland and first visited South Korea in the 1980s on a student exchange program.


Portrait of Scott Watkin

Dr Scott Watkins

Appointed 29 March 2022 for three years

Dr Scott Watkins is the Chief Sustainability Officer with KISCO, a Korean chemicals and inks manufacturer. He has worked with KISCO since 2015, spending a significant proportion of his time in Seoul while living in Melbourne. Scott’s role is to lead KISCO’s ESG strategy and help develop new business areas. In 2020 Scott negotiated KISCO's strategic partnership with and investment into Boron Molecular, an Australian chemical manufacturer that was a CSIRO spin-out company.

Scott is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and currently serves as a non-executive director and Chair of the Board for two Australian not-for-profit organisations: Pollinate Group and parkrun Australia.

Scott has a PhD in Chemistry from UNSW and spent four years in the UK working in two start-up companies, out of Oxford and Cambridge Universities, in the area of Organic Light Emitting Diodes (OLEDs). He subsequently spent 10 years with CSIRO, Australia’s national science agency, as a research scientist and manager where he led work on developing the materials and processes to enable the production of flexible solar cells.


Portrait of Karen Halbert

Ms Karen Halbert

Appointed 29 March 2022 for three years

Ms Karen Halbert leads Sydney Airport’s Corporate Affairs team and is responsible for internal and external communication, government relations, corporate social responsibility, media relations, brand management, customer experience and stakeholder engagement.

Joining the airport in 2019, Ms Halbert brings 20 years’ experience leading corporate affairs across ASX listed mining and infrastructure businesses and most recently at Australia’s national tourism organisation.

Ms Halbert’s focus at the airport is to work collaboratively with stakeholders and industry partners to enhance the customer experience, grow tourism and deliver on the airport’s purpose to make Sydney proud every day.


Portrait of Robyn Bryant

Ms Robyn Bryant

Appointed 29 March 2022 for three years

Ms Robyn Bryant is an experienced board member with a demonstrated history of working in the farming industry. She is skilled in non-executive director, leadership, strategic planning, agriculture, and board governance. Ms Bryant is the Board Director of National Farmers’ Federation and was previously the Board Director of AgForce Queensland.

Back to top