Skip to main content

The G20

The G20

The Group of Twenty (G20) is the premier international forum for global economic cooperation. The members of the G20 are: Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, and the European Union.

G20 members account for 85 per cent of the world economy, 75 per cent of global trade, and two-thirds of the world's population, including more than half of the world's poor. G20 leaders meet annually at the G20 Summit. Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors meet regularly. G20 ministerial meetings (e.g. trade, health, employment, agriculture) also occur as each G20 Presidency decides. G20 Engagement groups maintain a dialogue with policy makers. These groups represent civil society, business and labour leaders, the scientific and research community, think-tanks, women, and youth.

World map with G20 member countries highlighted.

The G20 and Australia

Australia supports a strong and effective G20. Australia benefits from G20 cooperation to support an open global economy and to protect the global financial system's stability. Follow the conversation with Australia's G20 Sherpa Dr David Gruen on Twitter @G20Australia.

Australia held the G20 Presidency in 2014 culminating in the Brisbane Summit in November 2014.

The G20 in 2019

Japan holds the G20 Presidency in 2019. Japan held the Osaka Summit on 28-29 June 2019, resulting in the G20 Osaka Leaders' Declaration [PDF]. With support from other key economies, Australia sought and secured G20 agreement to an additional consensus statement: the G20 Osaka Leaders' Statement on Preventing Exploitation of the Internet for Terrorism and Violent Extremism Conducive to Terrorism [PDF]. Key themes under the Japanese presidency include: trade and investment, innovation, and environment. Read more about Japan's G20 agenda and view its calendar of meetings.

Argentina hosted the G20 in 2018. The Buenos Aires Summit culminated in the Buenos Aires G20 Leaders' Declaration [PDF] on the theme of "building consensus for fair and sustainable development".

In 2020, Saudi Arabia will hold the G20 Presidency.

Last Updated: 3 July 2019
Back to top