Skip to main content

South Africa

Flag of South Africa

South Africa

South Africa has 11 official languages, with Zulu, Xhosa, Afrikaans and English being the most commonly spoken first languages. The country has three capital cities: Pretoria/Tshwane (administrative), Cape Town (legislative) and Bloemfontein (judicial). It is Africa's third largest economy by GDP (after Nigeria and Egypt) and the continent's only member of the G20. South Africa is a member of the Commonwealth and an active participant in international forums. South Africa is a member of the Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA) and served as chair from 2017 – 2019. It is an active member of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) and the Southern African Customs Union (SACU). 

Australia maintains a High Commission in Pretoria. South Africa is represented in Australia by a High Commission in Canberra.

Economic and trade information

South Africa Country/Economy Fact Sheet [PDF]

Travel information

Heads of Government

Includes Heads of State, Prime Ministers, Foreign, Trade and Aid Ministers

Embassies and consulates


Australian High Commission in South Africa

South Africa

South African High Commission

Back to top