Skip to main content


Board members

Chair – Professor Betty Leask

South Australia

Emeritus Professor of International Education, La Trobe University, Melbourne

Professor Betty Leask

Mr Ignacio Hernandez

New South Wales

Chief Executive Officer of HIF Asia Pacific

Ignacio Hernandez

Ms Mara Bún


Company Director and advisor to sustainable finance, climate technology and carbon/nature markets

Co-Founder and Board Director of “The Conversation Brasil”

Mara Bún

Mr Ben Poveda-Alfonso

Northern Territory

Senior Policy Officer, Northern Territory Government 

Co-Founder, Kindness Shake

Ben Poveda-Alfonso

Ms Irma Enriquez Thompson

New South Wales

Artistic Director, Cultural Promoter and Pianist, Music from IberoAmerica in Australia (MIA)

Irma Enriquez Thompson

Ms Christine Gibbs Stewart

New South Wales

Chief Executive Officer, Austmine Ltd

Ms Christine Gibbs Stewart

Ms Valeria Alvano Toloza

New South Wales

Regional General Manager, LATAM Airlines Group for South Pacific, Sydney, NSW

Ms Valeria Alvano Toloza

Dr Erin Watson


Co-founder and Chair, Australia Latam Emerging Leaders Dialogue

Dr Erin Watson-Lynn

Ex-officio Members

Mr George Mina

Deputy Secretary, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

George Mina

Austrade Ex Officio - Mr Sam Guthrie

General Manager, Government and Policy

Portrait of Sam Guthrie.

Department of Education Ex Officio - Ms Vanessa Lapthorne

Assistant Secretary, Engagement Branch, International Division

Vanessa Lapthorne
Back to top