Skip to main content


Joint Statement on KAFTA


10 February 2014

The Government of the Republic of Korea and the Government of Australia held a meeting to initial the "Korea-Australia Free Trade Agreement" in Canberra, Australia on 10 February 2014. The Korean delegation was led by Assistant Minister of Trade, Industry and Energy and Chief Negotiator, Mr Taehee Woo. The Australian delegation was led by Deputy Secretary and Chief Negotiator, Ms Jan Adams.

Both sides confirm that the text of the "Korea-Australia Free Trade Agreement" has been finalized, legally scrubbed and initialled.

Both sides agree to work towards signing the "Korea-Australia Free Trade Agreement" in the first half of 2014, after expeditiously completing their respective domestic procedures for signature, with the mutual intention that the Agreement will enter into force as soon as possible.

For the Government of the Republic of Korea: Tahee Woo

For the Government of Australia: Jan Adams

Last Updated: 17 February 2014
Back to top