Skip to main content


Flag of Zambia


Zambia is a landlocked Commonwealth country that gained independence from Britain in October 1964. It was a founding member of both the Southern African Development Community and the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) which is headquartered in Zambia's capital city, Lusaka. Copper is the country's main export.

The official language is English while the main local language is Nyanja.

Australia’s non-resident High Commissioner for Zambia (with residence in Zimbabwe) is assisted by an Honorary Consul in Lusaka. Zambia is represented in Australia by a High Commissioner based in Canberra.

Economic and trade information

Zambia economic fact sheet [PDF]

Travel information

Heads of Government

Includes Heads of State, Prime Ministers, Foreign, Trade and Aid Ministers

Embassies and consulates



High Commission of the Republic of Zambia

Back to top