Skip to main content


Flag of Seychelles


The Republic of Seychelles is an Indian Ocean state made up of 155 separate islands spread over 457 square kilometres. The official languages are Seychellois Creole, English and French.

Seychelles' economy relies heavily on tourism and fishing. With an Exclusive Economic Zone of approximately 1.3 million square kilometres, its blue economy sector is growing in importance.

Seychelles is a member of the Commonwealth, the Southern African Development Community, the Indian Ocean Commission and the Indian Ocean Rim Association. It plays an active role in anti-piracy in the Indian Ocean, hosting the Indian Ocean Commission’s Maritime Security Coordination Centre. Australian and Seychellois defence and security agencies have cooperated on countering piracy and transnational crime. It also hosts the Indian Ocean Tuna Commission.

Australia and the Seychelles established diplomatic relations in 1976. Australia's diplomatic representation to Seychelles is from the High Commission in Port Louis, Mauritius.

Economic and trade information

Seychelles economic fact sheet [PDF]

Travel information

Heads of Government

Includes Heads of State, Prime Ministers, Foreign, Trade and Aid Ministers

Embassies and consulates


The Australian High Commission in Mauritius is responsible for Seychelles


Consulate of Seychelles


Back to top