Skip to main content


Flag of Senegal


Senegal's capital city, Dakar, is the African mainland’s westernmost point. President Macky Sall was elected in 2012 and again in 2019. Senegal’s official language is French.

Major commodities include peanuts, petroleum, fish, phosphates and cotton. While unemployment is high, the country has one of the region's most stable economies.

Senegal is a member of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), La Francophonie, and the African Union.

Australia is represented in Senegal through our High Commission in Accra, Ghana.

Economic and trade information

Travel information

Heads of Government

Embassies and consulates



Back to top