Skip to main content


Flag of Namibia


Namibia is located along the southwest coast of Africa facing the south Atlantic Ocean. It borders Angola, Botswana and South Africa and was formerly a German colony. During World War I, South Africa occupied Namibia and later annexed it as a territory. Namibia gained its independence in 1990. It is a member of the Commonwealth and the Southern African Development Community.

Namibia's territory includes the Namib and Kalahari deserts - it is hot and prone to droughts. It is the first country in the world to incorporate the protection of the environment into its constitution.

Namibia small population, mostly live in rural areas and rely on subsistence agriculture. Namibia has large reserves of various minerals, notably diamonds and uranium, and mining is a major contributor to the Namibian economy.

Australia's diplomatic representation to Namibia is from the High Commission in Pretoria, South Africa, assisted by an Honorary Consul in Windhoek. Namibia is represented in Australia by an Honorary Consul-General in Sydney.

Economic, trade and political information

Namibia country fact sheet [PDF]

Travel information

Heads of Government

Includes Heads of State, Prime Ministers, Foreign, Trade and Aid Ministers

Embassies and consulates



Consulate-General of Namibia

Back to top