Skip to main content


Flag of Mozambique


With a long coastline of 2,470 km facing the Indian Ocean, Mozambique lies above South Africa and borders five other countries. Malawi, Zambia and Zimbabwe rely on access to Mozambique's ports which are also used by South Africa. Following independence from Portugal in 1975, Mozambique subsequently suffered a protracted civil war that ended in 1992.

Mozambique is a member of the Commonwealth, the Southern African Development Community and the Indian Ocean Rim Association. Although Portuguese is the official language, it is the first language for less than 10 per cent of the population of 30.5 million (2018).

Australia's diplomatic representation to Mozambique is from the High Commission in Pretoria, South Africa, assisted by an Honorary Consul in Maputo. Mozambique is represented in Australia by two Honorary Consuls in Sydney and Melbourne.

Economic and trade information

Mozambique country/economy fact sheet [PDF]
This document may not meet the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.1. If you require a fully accessible copy of this document, please contact

Travel information

Heads of Government

Includes Heads of State, Prime Ministers, Foreign, Trade and Aid Ministers.

Embassies and consulates


Australian Consulate in Maputo, Mozambique


Consulate-General of Mozambique

Related links

Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research Mozambique Program

Back to top