Skip to main content


Flag of Guinea


Guinea is a country in West Africa bordered by Guinea-Bissau, Senegal and Mali to the north and east; by Côte d'Ivoire to the southeast; by Liberia and Sierra Leone to the south; and by the Atlantic Ocean to the west. The capital is Conakry.

There are four geographic regions that also correspond with the country’s major linguistic groups; they are Lower Guinea, the Fouta Djallon, Upper Guinea, and the Forest Region.

Coups have set back the path to stable and democratic governance in Guinea.

Guinea is one of the largest producers of bauxite in the world. It also has large deposits of iron ore, gold and diamonds.

Australian diplomatic representation to Guinea is through Australia's High Commission in Accra, Ghana.

Economic and trade information

Guinea country and economic fact sheet [PDF]

Travel information

Heads of Government

Includes Heads of State, Prime Ministers, Foreign, Trade and Aid Ministers

Embassies and consulates


The Australian High Commission in Ghana is responsible for Guinea


Embassy of the Republic of Guinea

Back to top