Skip to main content

Cote d'Ivoire

Flag of Cote d'Ivoire

Côte d'Ivoire

Côte d'Ivoire gained its independence from France in 1960. French is the official language, but the multiethnic population speaks more than sixty native dialects, of which Dioula is the most common. In 1983 the capital moved from Abidjan to Yamoussoukro, although Abidjan remains the country's commercial and administrative centre. 

In elections monitored by the United Nations in 2010, incumbent leader Laurent Gbagbo was defeated by Alassane Ouattara. However, Gbagbo refused to accept the outcome of the election and the country descended into civil war. In April 2011, after five months of conflict, Gbagbo was forcibly removed from office by Ouattara's supporters with the assistance of UN and French forces. President Ouattara won re-election in 2015 and again in 2020.

Côte d'Ivoire is the world's largest producer and exporter of cocoa and a significant producer and exporter of coffee and palm oil. Agriculture employs around two-thirds of the population. 

Côte d'Ivoire is a member of La Francophonie, the Organisation of Islamic Cooperation, the African Union, and the Economic Community of West African States. Australia's diplomatic representation to Côte d'Ivoire is from the High Commission in Accra, Ghana.

Economic and trade information

Travel information

Heads of Government

Embassies and consulates


Côte d'Ivoire


Back to top