Skip to main content

Protocol Guidelines

1. Introduction to Australia and its system of government

The Commonwealth of Australia is a federation of six states and two self-governing territories. The national government is the Australian Government, also referred to as the federal government or Commonwealth government. The constitution gives certain powers to the federal government, some powers are shared with the states and territories, while other powers remain with the states and territories. The states and territories thus have a significant degree of autonomy; the Australian Government does not have the legal power to influence many of their decisions.

Further information about Australia's system of government can be found on the Parliament of Australia website. Following is some practical information about interacting with parliament and the federal government.

Last Updated: 2 November 2017
Back to top