Skip to main content


Free Trade Agreements

Australia's free trade agreements (FTAs)

A free trade agreement (FTA) is an international treaty between two or more economies that reduces or eliminates certain barriers to trade in goods and services, as well as investment. Australia negotiates FTAs to benefit Australian exporters, importers, producers and investors by reducing and eliminating certain barriers to international trade and investment.

Free trade agreements in force

The following are Australia’s free trade agreements (listed with the entry-into-force date).

FTAs concluded but not yet in force

Pacific Agreement on Closer Economic Relations (PACER) Plus

PACER Plus was signed in Nuku'alofa in Tonga on 14 June 2017 by Australia, New Zealand and eight Pacific Island countries – Cook Islands, Kiribati, Nauru, Niue, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga and Tuvalu.

For more information about PACER Plus, visit our Pacific Agreement on Closer Economic Relations (PACER) Plus page.

The Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP)

On 15 November 2020, Ministers from 15 countries signed the Agreement.

For more information about RCEP, visit our Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP) page.

FTAs under negotiation

Back to top