Skip to main content

Direct Aid Program (DAP)

Direct Aid Program


The Direct Aid Program (DAP) is a small grants program funded from Australia's aid budget. It has the flexibility to work with local communities in developing countries on projects that reduce poverty and achieve sustainable development consistent with Australia's national interest.

It sits alongside Australia's longer-term country and multilateral development strategies and with its wide geographical reach plays an important role in supporting local community efforts towards poverty reduction across the globe.

The program is founded on a set of principles which:

  • advance developmental outcomes in countries eligible for Official Development Assistance (ODA) through projects primarily focused on practical and tangible results. This may include projects which support good governance, human rights and those with a strong advocacy component,
  • support Australia's wider foreign and trade policy interests and public diplomacy objectives, including promoting a distinctive and positive image of Australia, and
  • allow for a wide geographic reach reflecting that Australia has global interests and that DAP provides an effective way to build relationships and maintain Australia's profile.

DAP projects cover a range of sectors such as education, health, water and sanitation, environmental protection, women's empowerment and gender equality, supporting people with disabilities, economic livelihoods, food security and human rights.

DAP projects engage a wide range of partners including community groups, non-government organisations, educational institutions and local governments.

DAP factsheet: 2016-17

The factsheet provides a summary of the program over 2016-17 and outlines DAP's achievements over the year. It illustrates the implementation of the program through several case studies.

DAP factsheet: 2017-18

The factsheet provides a summary of the program over 2017-18 and outlines DAP's achievements over the year. It illustrates the implementation of the program through several case studies.

Who can apply for DAP funding?

Funding is available on a not-for-profit basis to community groups, NGOs and other entities engaged in development activities in countries that are eligible for ODA.

There is no minimum amount that a single DAP project can receive but the maximum is $60, 000 over the life of the project (dependent on the country). Activities can run up to a maximum of two years.

The management of the Direct Aid Program varies from mission to mission. To find out more about how the program is managed in a particular country, please contact the Australian mission overseas that administers DAP in that country.

For Australian mission contact details see our overseas embassies and consulates listing.

International Development Fund (IDF)

The IDF is a sub-program of the Direct Aid Program and is managed through the Australia permanent mission in Geneva.

The IDF supports multilateral agendas that Australia wishes to advance and aims to support ODA-eligible projects that, inter-alia, enable developing countries to participate in international meetings.

IDF support is available to UN organisations, community groups, NGOs or any other not-for-profit organisation. Please contact one of the four Australian missions overseas (at the link above) that manages the IDF program for further detail.

DAP eligible countries (2019-20)

DAP-eligible countries
Region Administering post Eligible countries / Territories
* The host country does not receive DAP funds


Accra (Ghana) Ghana, Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, Guinea, Liberia, Mali, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo 
Addis Ababa (Ethiopia) Ethiopia. Djibouti, South Sudan, Central African Republic
Cairo (Egypt) Egypt, Eritrea, Sudan
Harare (Zimbabwe) Zimbabwe, Malawi, Zambia, Congo (Democratic Republic of)
Lisbon (Portugal)* Cape Verde, Guinea-Bissau, Sao Tome and Principe
Madrid (Spain)* Equatorial Guinea
Malta* Tunisia
Nairobi (Kenya) Kenya, Burundi, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda, Somalia, 
Paris (France)* Algeria, Mauritania, Chad
Port Louis (Mauritius) Mauritius, Comoros, Madagascar
Pretoria (South Africa) South Africa, Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, Swaziland 
Rabat (Morocco) Morocco

South and West Asia

Colombo (Sri Lanka) Sri Lanka, Maldives
Chennai (India) Chennai, Mumbai
Islamabad (Pakistan) Pakistan
Kathmandu (Nepal) Nepal
New Delhi (India) India, Bhutan
Latin America/Caribbean Brasilia (Brazil) Brazil
Buenos Aires (Argentina) * Argentina, Paraguay
Bogota (Colombia) Colombia, Venezuela
Lima (Peru) Peru, Bolivia
Mexico City (Mexico) Mexico, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama
Port of Spain (Trinidad and Tobago) * Antigua and Barbuda, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname
Santiago (Chile) * Ecuador
Middle East  Amman (Jordan) Jordan
Baghdad (Iraq) Iraq
Beirut (Lebanon) Lebanon, Syria
Ramallah (Palestinian Territories) Palestinian Territories
Tehran  Iran
South East Asia  Bali (Indonesia) Indonesia
Bangkok (Thailand) Thailand
Kuala Lumpur (Malaysia) Malaysia
Makassar (Indonesia) Indonesia
Manila (Philippines) Philippines
Phnom Penh (Cambodia) Cambodia
Surabaya (Indonesia) Indonesia
Pacific Apia (Samoa) Samoa
Honiara (Solomon Islands) Solomon Islands
Noumea (New Caledonia) Wallis and Futuna
Nuku'alofa (Tonga) Tonga
Pohnpei (Federated States of Micronesia) Federated States of Micronesia, Palau, Marshall Islands
Port Moresby (Papua New Guinea) Papua New Guinea
Suva (Fiji) Fiji, Tuvalu
Tarawa (Kirribati) Kiribati
Europe Ankara (Turkey) Turkey, Azerbaijan, Georgia
Belgrade (Serbia) Serbia, Montenegro, FYROM
Kyiv (Ukraine) Ukraine
Moscow (Russia)* Tajikistan, Moldova, Armenia, Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan
Rome (Italy)* Albania 
Vienna (Austria)* Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo
North Asia Beijing (China) China
Ulaan Bataar (Mongolia) Mongolia
Global IDF  Geneva (UN)* ODA - eligible countries


Last Updated: 17 April 2018
Back to top