Skip to main content

Grawemeyer Award to Senator Evans

News, speeches and media

Media Release


The US $150,000 ($A207,000) Grawemeyer Award for Ideas Improving World Order is one
of the most prestigious of its kind in the world: previous winners included Norwegian Prime
Minister Gro Harlem Brundtland (as chair of the UN World Commission on Environment and
Development), and well known scholars Samuel Huntington, Robert Keohane and Richard

A press package of the announcement from the University of Louisville announcing the award of
the 1995 prize to Senator Evans is attached.

Also attached is the text of Senator Evans's article Cooperative Security and Intrastate
in the journal Foreign Policy (Fall 1994) which - together with his 1993 book Cooperating for Peace - formed the basis for the award.

Senator Evans was nominated for the award by Professor Andrew Mack, head of the Department
of International Relations at the Australian National University, and was chosen by a jury
established by the University of Louisville.

Senator Evans has not yet made any decision as to how the prize money will be spent, but is
presently considering a range of options, including scholarships, research programs and special
projects, on the themes of cooperative security, peace building, preventive diplomacy and UN

Last Updated: 19 September 2014
Back to top