Skip to main content

Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA)

Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA)

What is IORA?

The Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA) is an inter-governmental organisation formed in 1997 to foster regional economic cooperation. IORA has evolved into the peak regional group spanning the Indian Ocean.

From its inception with 14 member states, the membership has expanded to 23 countries: Australia, Bangladesh, the Comoros, France, India, Indonesia, Iran, Kenya, Madagascar, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Mozambique, Oman, Seychelles, Singapore, Somalia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Thailand, the United Arab Emirates and Yemen. IORA has 9 dialogue partners: China, Egypt, Germany, Italy, Japan, Turkey, the Republic of Korea, the United Kingdom and the United States of America.

Australia is a founding IORA member and chaired the organisation between 2013 and 2015.

IORA became an observer to the UN General Assembly and the African Union in 2015.

Decisions made within IORA are reached by consensus and commitments are undertaken on a voluntary basis.

The IORA Secretariat is based in Mauritius. It is headed by a fixed term Secretary-General. More information about IORA is available on IORA's official website.

Why is IORA important to Australia?

IORA is the only ministerial-level forum concerned with the Indian Ocean and includes important dialogue partners. Its strategic reach and key members make it a worthy investment for Australian foreign policy. Australia's engagement with IORA bolsters our bilateral and sub-regional relationships, within the broader context of Australia's Indo-Pacific interests. As a founding member of IORA, we support greater economic development and integration across the IORA membership.

Back to top