Skip to main content

East Asia Summit (EAS)

EAS Factsheet

The East Asia Summit (EAS) is a meeting of 18 regional leaders for strategic dialogue and cooperation on the key political, security, and economic challenges facing the Indo-Pacific region.


The EAS comprises the ten member states of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) – Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam – as well as Australia, China, Japan, India, New Zealand, the Republic of Korea, Russia and the United States.

The EAS membership represents around 54 per cent of the world's population and accounts for 58 per cent of global GDP. It includes 8 of Australia's top 10 trading partners. In 2017-18, Australia's two-way trade with EAS countries was worth around A$564 billion, 71 per cent of total two-way trade.

EAS in Regional Architecture

The EAS is an ASEAN-centred forum and can only be chaired by an ASEAN member. The following diagram shows how ASEAN sits at the centre of regional organisations and initiatives such as the EAS and the Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP).

Australia's participation in regional architecture

EAS in regional architecture diagram - link to text version below

View a larger version

Text version of diagram

EAS Chair

The chair of ASEAN is also the chair of the EAS. The role of ASEAN chair rotates annually between the ten ASEAN member states. The chair sets EAS priorities for the year, in consultation with EAS participating countries, and hosts most EAS meetings.

  • Current chair: 2019 Thailand
  • Past chairs: 2018 Singapore, 2017 Philippines
  • Future chairs: 2020 Vietnam, 2021 Brunei

Key Dates

  • 1974: Australia became ASEAN's first dialogue partner
  • 1994: Australia joined the ASEAN Regional Forum (ARF)
  • 2005: Australia acceded to the ASEAN Treaty of Amity and Cooperation
  • 2005: Australia participated, as a founding member, in the inaugural EAS in Kuala Lumpur
  • 2011: The US and Russia joined the EAS
  • 2014: Australia's relationship with ASEAN elevated to a Strategic Partnership
  • 2015: The Kuala Lumpur Declaration on the 10th Anniversary of the EAS issued
  • 2018: 1st ASEAN-Australia Special Summit, Sydney

Key EAS Meetings in 2019

  • May, August and October: EAS Senior Officials' Meetings
  • August: EAS Foreign Ministers' Meeting
  • September: EAS Economic Ministers' Meeting
  • November: EAS Leaders' Summit

Recent EAS Initiatives led by Australia


  • 2018 EAS International Disaster Assistance Workshop in Perth (co-hosted with Indonesia)



  • 2019 EAS Seminar on Maritime Security and International Law in Kuala Lumpur (co-hosted with Malaysia)
  • 2017 EAS Non-Proliferation Seminar in Melbourne (co-hosted with Thailand)
  • 2016 EAS Maritime Security Cooperation Seminar in Sydney (co-hosted with Indonesia)
  • 2015 EAS Search and Rescue Lessons Learned Seminar in Sydney (co-hosted with Thailand)

Key Australian Officials

  • Australia's EAS Senior Official: Richard Maude
  • Australia's EAS Senior Economic Official: James Baxter
  • Australia's Ambassador to ASEAN: Jane Duke

Text version of diagram

The 'EAS in regional architecture' diagram lists the members of ASEAN: Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam. It also shows that 4 regional organisations and initiatives include all ASEAN members:

  • AAANZFTA : ASEAN members plus Australia and New Zealand
  • ASEAN+3: ASEAN members plus China, Japan and Republic of Korea
  • RCEP: ASEAN+3 members plus India, Australia and New Zealand
  • EAS: RCEP members plus United States and Russia

The diagram also shows the members of the below regional organisations and initiatives:

  • TPP-11: Brunei, Malaysia, Singapore, Vietnam, Japan, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, Chile, Peru, Mexico
  • APEC: TPP-11 members plus China, Republic of Korea, Indonesia, Philippines, Thailand, Hong Kong, Taiwan, United States, Russia, and Papua New Guinea
  • Pacific Alliance: Chile, Peru, Mexico, Canada, Colombia
  • PACER Plus: Australia, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Kiribati, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Republic of Marshall Islands, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu
Last Updated: 1 July 2019
Back to top