Skip to main content

Australian National Commission for UNESCO

Priorities and mission

The Australian National Commission for UNESCO (comprising a Chair, Secretary-General and six Commissioners covering UNESCO's portfolio) serves three roles:

  1. to advise the Australian Government on all matters related to UNESCO
  2. to provide a portal for the Australian community to access UNESCO's programs, and to help implement UNESCO's mandate in Australia, and
  3. to foster and support UNESCO's programs and goals in Australia.

The Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade hosts the Secretariat for the Commission, working closely with Australia's Permanent Delegation to UNESCO in Paris. Representatives of other Australian Government agencies are also members of the National Commission.

For more information please visit the Australian National Commission for UNESCO website and Twitter @UNESCOinAus

Last Updated: 28 May 2019
Back to top