Skip to main content

Australian National Commission for UNESCO

Australian National Commission for UNESCO

The Australian National Commission for UNESCO is the Australian Government focal point for the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO). The National Commission provides expert analysis and policy advice to the Australian Government on UNESCO matters and acts as a point of liaison between government, the community and UNESCO in Australia.

UNESCO was established in 1946 as a specialised agency of the United Nations. UNESCO's mandate includes education, the natural sciences, the social and human sciences, culture and communications/information technology. Australia is a founding member. Further information is available from UNESCO.

Australian National Commission for UNESCO Grants Scheme

The Australian National Commission for UNESCO provides support to projects which will further National Commission and UNESCO priorities and objectives as set out in UNESCO's approved Programme and Budget for 2018-19 (39 C/5) and Medium-Term Strategy for 2014-2021 (37 C/4) [PDF]. They include:

  • Attaining quality education for all and lifelong learning.
  • Mobilizing science knowledge and policy for sustainable development.
  • Protecting, promoting and transmitting heritage.
  • Fostering cultural diversity and intercultural dialogue.
  • Building inclusive knowledge societies through information and communication.

Applications for the 2018-19 Grants Round have now closed.

Additional funding sources

We would encourage applicants to also familiarise themselves with other potential funding sources. The Grants & Assistance Finder is a useful Australian Government online tool for identifying available Federal, State and Local grants in a range of sectors, including the arts, environment education, disaster relief and indigenous programs.

About the Australian National Commission

UNITWIN/UNESCO University Chairs

Launched in 1992, the UNITWIN/UNESCO Chairs Programme promotes international inter-university cooperation and networking to enhance institutional capacities through knowledge sharing and collaborative work.

The Programme supports the establishment of UNESCO Chairs and UNITWIN Networks in key priority areas related to UNESCO's fields of competence – i.e. in education, the natural and social sciences, culture and communication.

Contact us

The Secretary-General
Australian National Commission for UNESCO
Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
R G Casey Building
John McEwen Crescent


Last Updated: 28 May 2019
Back to top