Skip to main content


Flag of Tanzania


Tanzania is the largest country in East Africa and the location of Africa's highest peak, Mount Kilimanjaro. Tanzania was formed in 1964, shortly after Tanganyika and Zanzibar gained independence from the United Kingdom. It is a member of the Commonwealth and over 100 languages are spoken in Tanzania making it the most linguistically diverse in East Africa. Although it has one of the world's lowest per capita incomes, Tanzania has experienced strong growth in recent years based on gold production and tourism. Tanzania has substantial natural gas reserves below its seabed. While much of government remains in Dar es-Salaam, the inland city of Dodoma is the administrative capital and home of the National Assembly. The East African Community – comprising Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda - has its headquarters in Arusha, one of Tanzania's northern cities.

The then President, HE Jakaya Kikwete, visited Australia as a Guest of Government in July 2015. National elections in October 2015 saw Mr John Magufuli elected as Tanzania's current president.

Australia's diplomatic representation to Tanzania is from the High Commission in Nairobi, Kenya. Tanzania has an Honorary Consul resident in Perth.

Economic and trade information

Travel information

Heads of Government

Embassies and consulates



Related links


Last Updated: 26 April 2019
Back to top