Skip to main content


Flag of Sudan


The Republic of Sudan became an independent country on 1 January 1956. A protracted rebellion led to the establishment of South Sudan as an independent country in 2011. Since April 2019, the country has been governed by a joint civilian-military government in a power-sharing agreement, but the military seized power in October 2021 and the UN is attempting to mediate ahead of the next election, planned for 2022.

Sudan is recovering from a series of civil wars with severe consequences for the population and the economy. The country hosts over 800,000 South Sudanese refugees as well as refugees from other regional countries.

Sudan is one of the three top gold producers in Africa and is seeking to expand and diversify its economy by developing its mining and agricultural sectors.

Although commercial engagement is currently limited, potential opportunities are emerging for Australian companies in Sudan, especially in extractives and agribusiness. Sudan regularly attends Africa Down Under and the International Mining and Resources Conference at ministerial level.

Australia's diplomatic representation to Sudan is from the Australian embassy in Cairo, Egypt. Sudan established an embassy in Canberra in 2017. In September 2018, Australia and Sudan held inaugural Senior Officials Talks in Canberra.

Economic and trade information

Travel information

Heads of Government

Includes Heads of State, Prime Ministers, Foreign, Trade and Aid Ministers

Embassies and consulates


The Australian Embassy in Egypt is responsible for Sudan.


Embassy of the Republic of the Sudan

Back to top