Skip to main content


Flag of Reunion


Réunion is an island of the Mascarene Islands and a French overseas département in the western Indian Ocean. It is located about 680 km east of Madagascar and 180 km southwest of Mauritius. The capital is Saint-Denis.

As an overseas département of France, Réunion is also deemed to be an Outermost Region of the European Union. The Réunionese are full citizens of France and the official language is French, however, the language in most common use on the island is Creole. The population is approximately 874,000 (2022).

Australia's diplomatic representation to Réunion Island is from the High Commission in Port Louis, Mauritius.

Travel information

Heads of Government

Back to top