Skip to main content


Flag of Mauritius


The Republic of Mauritius is an Indian Ocean island state with a population of 1.27 million (2022). A former colony of France and Britain, Mauritius's national language is English, but the majority of the population speak Creole or French.

Prime Minister Pravind Jugnauth, leader of the Alliance Morisien, was re-elected in November 2019. Mauritius is a member of the Commonwealth and the Southern African Development Community. Both the Indian Ocean Rim Association and the Indian Ocean Commission have their headquarters in Mauritius. Mauritius has transformed its economy away from its former reliance on sugar cane and is seeking to develop into a regional hub for financial services, ICT and education, as a business gateway to Africa.

Australia is the main supplier of a range of primary food products (such as meat and dairy) to Mauritius and our links in education and the blue economy are growing. The Mauritius Board of Investment lists more than 100 Australian companies under its global business arrangements. At over 30,000 (2022), Australia is home to the world’s second largest Mauritian diaspora.

Australia maintains a High Commission in Port Louis. Mauritius is represented in Australia by a High Commission in Canberra and has three Honorary Consuls in Australia, based in Sydney, Melbourne and Perth. Australia and Mauritius celebrated 50 years of official diplomatic relations in 2020.

Economic and trade information

Travel information

Heads of Government

Embassies and consulates



Back to top