Skip to main content


Flag of Lesotho


Geographically, Lesotho forms an enclave within South Africa, bordered by three of the latter's provinces – KwaZulu-Natal, Free State, and Eastern Cape. Lesotho is one of only three independent states in the world (Vatican City and the Republic of San Marino) to be completely encircled by another country. Lesotho gained its independence from Britain in 1966 and is a member of the Commonwealth and the Southern African Development Community.

The majority of Lesotho's population of 2.2 million (2021) speak Sesotho. Both Sesotho and English are official languages.

Australia's diplomatic representation to Lesotho is from the High Commission in Pretoria, South Africa.

Economic and trade information

Travel information

Heads of Government

Includes Heads of State, Prime Ministers, Foreign, Trade and Aid Ministers.

Embassies and consulates


The Australian High Commission in South Africa is responsible for Lesotho

Back to top