Skip to main content


Flag of Kosovo

Kosovo country brief

Key engagement

Australia was one of the first countries to recognise Kosovo's statehood in 2008.

Bilateral relations

Australia recognised Kosovo on 19 February 2008 and established diplomatic relations on 21 May 2008. The Australian Embassy in Zagreb, Croatia, holds non-resident accreditation to Kosovo. Kosovo opened an Embassy in Australia in February 2013. Australia, through its Embassy in Zagreb, administers a small grants aid program funded from Australia’s aid budget in Kosovo.

Foreign policy

Kosovo declared independence from Serbia on 17 February 2008, although this declaration has not been universally accepted. Kosovo claims it is currently recognized by 114 countries.  Kosovo became a member of the World Bank and the International Monetary Fund in 2009. It became a member of the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD) in 2012.  

Achieving universal recognition of statehood and membership of major international organisations including the United Nations, European Union and NATO are key foreign policy priorities for Kosovo.

Kosovo and Serbia began a process to normalise relations in 2013 as part of the EU-facilitated Brussels Agreement. Talks under this process  are currently stalled.  

Further information on Kosovo's foreign policy is available at Republic of Kosovo Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Australia's foreign policy is guided by the Foreign Policy White Paper.

Fast Facts

  • Visitors from Kosovo to Australia (2018) – 100
  • Australian visitors to Kosovo (2018) – 700
  • Resident Australian population born in Kosovo (2016 census) – 1,169
  • Kosovo students in Australia (2018) – 11

Australian Embassy, Croatia

Australian Embassy in Zagreb
Centar Kaptol (third floor), Nova Ves 11
Zagreb 10000 Croatia

Telephone: +385 1 4891 200




See Smartraveller for Information on travelling to Kosovo

Back to top