Skip to main content


Flag of Kenya


Kenya is the second largest economy in East Africa. Positive economic growth is expected to continue through the medium term, with recent discoveries of oil, gas and minerals.

The country's capital, Nairobi, is one of the fastest-growing cities in Africa and is home to over 3.8 million people (of an estimated 50 million across the country). Nairobi is also a major regional hub for the United Nations, multilateral organisations and diplomatic missions.

Lying along the equator, the fertile lands of the Kenya Rift Valley provide a haven for wildlife biodiversity and much potential for agricultural production. Mombasa Port, located on the South Coast, is a gateway to East African trade.

The official languages of Kenya are Kiswahili and English. Kenya is a member of the Commonwealth, having achieved its independence as a republic in 1963. It has grown to play an increasingly critical regional role on broader humanitarian, maritime and regional security issues in the Horn of Africa, hosting a large refugee population and playing an intermediary role in Somalia and South Sudan. It hosts the headquarters of the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA), UN Human Settlements Programme (UN- Habitat), UN Environment Programme (UNEP) and is a member of the International Conference on the Great Lakes Region (ICGLR) and Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA).

In 2015, Australia and Kenya celebrated 50 years of bilateral relations. Our strengthened ties are evident through collaboration on agriculture and food security, counter-terrorism and piracy, mining exploration and education. Also in recent years, Australia and Kenya have undertaken a number of high-level visits and significant bilateral contact between senior officials.

Australia maintains a High Commission in Nairobi. Kenya is represented in Australia by a High Commissioner based in Canberra.

Economic, trade and political information

Travel information

Heads of Government

Includes Heads of State, Prime Ministers, Foreign, Trade and Aid Ministers.

Embassies and consulates


Australian High Commission in Kenya


High Commission for the Republic of Kenya

Related links

Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research Kenya Program

Last Updated: 26 April 2019
Back to top