Skip to main content


Flag of Gabon


Gabon, lying astride the equator on the western coast of Africa, is one of the most stable countries on the continent. With a small population and significant oil and mineral reserves, it is also among the wealthiest. Although income inequality is high, Gabon enjoys a per capita income four times that of most sub-Saharan African countries.

The country's official language is French. The capital, Libreville, is Gabon's largest city and economic centre.

Gabon was a founding member of the African Union. It is also a member of La Francaphonie and the Economic Community of Central African States.

Australia's Ambassador to Gabon is resident in Abuja, Nigeria.

Economic and trade information

Travel information

Heads of Government

Embassies and consulates



Back to top