Skip to main content

Congo, Democratic Republic of the

Flag of Congo, Democratic Republic of the

Congo, Democratic Republic of the

The Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) has Africa's fourth largest population and is the second biggest country in terms of area (the largest is Algeria). DRC gained independence from Belgium in 1960 after a vicious civil war. President Mobutu (1965-97) renamed the country Zaire, then President Laurent Kabila (1997-2001) renamed it the DRC. French is the official language, but Lingala is the most widely spoken. Since independence, the DRC has experienced political instability and violence due to ethnic tensions (there are over 200 ethnic groups in the DRC) exacerbated by the periodic influx of refugees from neighbouring countries.

In 2010, the United Nations (UN) Security Council established the UN Organization Stabilization Mission in the DRC. The Mission was authorised to use all necessary means to protect civilians, humanitarian personnel and human rights defenders and to support the DRC Government in its peace consolidation efforts. The Government committed to implement security and governance reforms, and to take steps towards decentralisation and economic development when it signed the Framework Agreement on Peace, Security and Cooperation (PSC) in February 2013. The conflict has led to large scale population displacement, grave human rights violations including mass sexual violence, burning and looting of homes and schools and forced recruitment of children into armed groups.

DRC has some of the largest mineral reserves in sub-Saharan Africa and has experienced economic growth over the past ten years, based mainly on renewed activity in the mining sector. Much mining activity is informal, profits from which are funding the illicit activities of armed groups. The DRC is a member of La Francophonie, the African Union, the Southern African Development Community, and the International Conference on the Great Lakes Region.

Australia's diplomatic representation to DRC is from the High Commission in Harare, Zimbabwe.

Economic and trade information

Travel information

Heads of Government


Back to top