Skip to main content


Flag of Angola


Angola faces the South Atlantic Ocean and shares a long border with the Democratic Republic of Congo as well as Botswana, Namibia and Zambia. Angola is rich in resources, notably oil and diamonds. The capital and commercial centre is Luanda, a large port city on the northern coast. 

Angola's official language is Portuguese and it has a population of around 33.9 million (2021). It is a member of the Southern African Development Community.

Australia's diplomatic representation to Angola is from the High Commission in Pretoria, South Africa, assisted by an Honorary Consul in Luanda.

Economic and trade information

Travel information

Heads of Government

Embassies and consulates


Back to top