Skip to main content

Joint Ministerial Statement on the UK’s accession process to the CPTPP

1. Ministers and representatives of Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore and Viet Nam, members of the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP), and the United Kingdom (UK) met virtually on 31st March 2023 (JST). They welcomed the substantial conclusion of the negotiations for the accession of the UK to the CPTPP following the most recent round of talks held in Phu Quoc, Viet Nam.

2. The Accession Working Group (AWG) and the UK confirmed the means by which the UK will comply with the existing rules contained in the CPTPP. The AWG also confirmed that the UK has provided commercially meaningful market access offers of the highest standard on goods, services, investment, financial services, government procurement, state-owned enterprises and temporary entry for business persons. The CPTPP Parties have confirmed or submitted, respectively, their market access commitments to the UK.

3. The AWG will work with the UK to prepare and verify the legal instrument of accession, aiming at finalising the process in a timely manner consistent with domestic procedures in each member country and the CPTPP Accession Process, to formalise conclusion of the accession process.

4. The CPTPP is one of the most comprehensive and ambitious trade deals ever concluded. The CPTPP Members and the UK are committed in further promoting free trade, open and competitive markets, the rules-based trading system and economic integration in the region and beyond.

Further information

Read Minister for Trade and Tourism, Senator the Hon Don Farrell’s media release on the substantial conclusion of the UK ‘s CPTPP accession.

Back to top