Skip to main content

Historical documents

440 Dr H. V. Evatt, Minister for External Affairs, to Mr John Curtin, Prime Minister

Cablegram PM[S]5 WASHINGTON, 25 March 1942, 12.48 a.m.


Following for the Prime Minister.

1. At combined United States-United Kingdom Chiefs of Staff
meeting this afternoon the following recommendations were made as
to war areas of the world:-

(A) The sub-division of the world (outside Russia) into three main

(a) Pacific Theatre (United States responsibility)
(b) Indian Ocean and Middle East Theatre (United Kingdom
(c) European and Atlantic Theatre (joint United States-United
Kingdom responsibility)
(B) The Pacific Theatre to be divided into:-

(a) South-west Pacific Area-under General MacArthur.

(b) Southern Pacific Area-directly under Washington, i.e., in
effect under Admiral King. [1] Individual commander of this area
not yet made known.

(C) The Western boundary of the Pacific Theatre will not run down
the actual coast line of Western Australia, but some few hundred
miles to the westward of Western Australia.

(D) The boundary between the South-west Pacific Area and Southern
Pacific Area-to be (from the south) the 160 degrees line, leaving
the Solomon Islands in the South-west Pacific Area (i.e. under
General MacArthur).

(E) China to remain in the Pacific Theatre and not in the Indian
Ocean and Middle East Theatre.

2. Decisions as to Council and related matters have not yet been
finalized by the President. [2]

3. The President has the A.I.F. matter still before him. I shall
wire immediately I hear from him.


1 Commander-in-Chief, U.S. Navy.

2 Franklin D. Roosevelt.

[AA:A3195, 1942, 1.12048]
Last Updated: 11 September 2013
Back to top