Skip to main content

Protocol Guidelines

13.2 Prohibited firearms

A number of firearms types have been declared prohibited weapons and it is illegal to possess them. No prohibited weapon may be imported or retained by a diplomatic mission or consular post, or by any member of a diplomatic mission or consular post.

Prohibited firearms include self-loading (automatic or semi-automatic) rimfire rifles, self-loading centre-fire rifles, self-loading shotguns, and pump action shotguns.

13.2.1 Other prohibited weapons and items

Some states or territories prohibit or restrict other types of weapons, for instance electric batons, tasers and ballistic vests. Here is a full list of weapons and items prohibited in the ACT.

Last Updated: 13 February 2019
Back to top