Skip to main content


Trans-Pacific Partnership Ministers' Statement

February 4, 2016

We, the Ministers representing Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile,
Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, United States, and
Vietnam, are pleased to announce that we have today signed the Trans-Pacific
Partnership agreement.

After more than five years of negotiations, we are honoured to be able to formalise
our collective agreement of TPP which represents an historic achievement for the
Asia-Pacific region.

TPP will set a new standard for trade and investment in one of the world's fastest
growing and most dynamic regions. We signatories comprise nearly 40 percent of
global GDP, a market of more than 800 million people, and around one third of
world trade. Our goal is to enhance shared prosperity, create jobs and promote
sustainable economic development for all of our nations.

The signing of the agreement signals an important milestone and the beginning of
the next phase for TPP. Our focus now turns to the completion of our respective
domestic processes.

We recognise the interest shown by a number of other economies throughout the
region. This interest affirms our shared objective, through TPP, of creating a
platform that promotes high-standards for broader economic integration in the

Last Updated: 4 February 2016
Back to top