Skip to main content


Elizabeth O’Neill Journalism Award

Former Minister for Foreign Affairs, Senator the Hon Marise Payne, has announced the recipients of the 2019 Elizabeth O'Neill Journalism Award are Sinead Mangan of Australia and Andini Effendi of Indonesia.

Media release: 2019 Elizabeth O'Neill Journalism Award

Ms Mangan is the Executive Producer of the Australian Broadcasting Corporation's Australia Wide program. Ms Effendi is the host of current affairs and news programs on Metro TV in Indonesia. Both Ms Mangan and Ms Effendi will spend two weeks in Indonesia and Australia respectively to deepen their understanding of contemporary issues in each country.

The Elizabeth O'Neill Journalism Award commemorates the distinguished career of Elizabeth O'Neill OAM who died in service of the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade in Indonesia on 7 March 2007. The award builds on her tireless work to foster mutual understanding of Australia and Indonesia through accurate and informed media coverage.

The Elizabeth O'Neill Journalism Award is awarded to one journalist from Indonesia and one journalist from Australia each year. The award is open to high-achieving journalists from print, radio, television and online media organisations at any stage of their career.

For more information, visit the Elizabeth O'Neill Journalism Award page.

Back to top