Skip to main content

Nuclear Safeguards - Memorandum of Understanding Between Australian and Indonesian Authorities

News, speeches and media

Media Release

Media release from the Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

The Australian Safeguards and Non-Proliferation Office
(ASNO) and its Indonesian counterpart, the Nuclear Energy Control
Board (BAPETEN) have signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) for an
"Arrangement Concerning Cooperation on Nuclear Safeguards and
Related Matters".

The MOU was signed by ASNO's Director General, John Carlson and
the Chairman of BAPETEN, Dr Mohammad Ridwan in Tokyo on 29 June 2001.
It formalises a long standing and close relationship between
Australian and Indonesian safeguards officials covering areas such as
joint R&D projects on International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)
safeguards, staff exchanges and training.

Safeguards ensure that nuclear activities are for exclusively
peaceful purposes, promoting international confidence building and
transparency. The MOU provides an umbrella for further
cooperation in this area, including exchanges of scientific and
technical staff and joint participation in safeguards research.
The MOU does not cover provision of nuclear material or nuclear

Indonesia is so far one of the few states in our region to have
brought into effect an Additional Protocol with the IAEA for the
application of strengthened safeguards. Its leadership on
safeguards matters in the region is very welcome.

ASNO is Australia's national authority for nuclear safeguards.
ASNO is also responsible for implementation of the CWC (Chemical
Weapons Convention) and the CTBT (Comprehensive Test-Ban Treaty).
BAPETEN is an independent regulator, reporting directly to the
President of Indonesia, responsible for nuclear safeguards, nuclear
safety and radiation protection.

The commitment from both ASNO and BAPETEN to work together signals
an important step in strengthening the nuclear safeguards and
non-proliferation norms of the IAEA in our region.

Inquiries: DFAT
Media Liaison Section 02 6261 1555


Last Updated: 19 September 2014
Back to top