Skip to main content


Flag of Kenya


Kenya is situated on the equator in East Africa. It has an Indian Ocean coastline and the Rift Valley runs through the country. The official languages are Kiswahili and English. Since gaining independence in 1963, Kenya has played a major role in humanitarian, maritime and regional security issues in the Horn of Africa. The capital Nairobi is one of the fastest-growing cities in Africa and serves as a major regional hub for the United Nations, multilateral organisations and diplomatic missions.

Kenya is the second largest economy in East Africa, with significant mineral and energy resources. Mombasa Port, located on the south coast, is a gateway to East African trade. Our two-way trade was nearly $500 million in 2021. Wheat and minerals are Australia's main exports to Kenya, while coffee and vegetables make up the bulk of imports.

Australia maintains a High Commission in Nairobi and Kenya is represented in Australia by a High Commission in Canberra.

Economic, trade and political information

Travel information

Heads of Government

Includes Heads of State, Prime Ministers, Foreign, Trade and Aid Ministers.

Embassies and consulates


Australian High Commission in Kenya


High Commission for the Republic of Kenya

Related links

Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research

Back to top