Skip to main content


Flag of Cameroon


Cameroon, formed by the union of two former colonies, is among Africa's most ethnically and linguistically diverse nations. French and English are both official languages. Cameroon's capital is Yaoundé, but Douala is the country's largest city and economic centre.

Cameroon's economy is dominated by oil and agricultural exports.

Cameroon is a founding member of the African Union. It is also a member of La Francophonie, the Commonwealth of Nations and the Economic Community of Central African States.

Australia's Ambassador to Cameroon, resident in Abuja, Nigeria, is assisted by an honorary consul in Yaoundé. Cameroon's Ambassador to Australia is based in Tokyo, Japan, with an honorary consul in Sydney.

Economic and trade information

Travel information

Heads of Government

Embassies and consulates




Last Updated: 24 April 2019
Back to top