Skip to main content

Trade and the environment

Environmental Goods Agreement (EGA)

About the Environmental Goods Agreement

The Environmental Goods Agreement (EGA) is an attempt by some World Trade Organization (WTO) Members to reduce tariffs on goods that benefit the environment to reduce costs and benefit trade. The agreement aims to build on the list of 54 environmental goods that APEC leaders agreed for tariff reduction in 2012.

The Australian Government is chair of the EGA negotiations.

Participating WTO Members include Canada, China, Costa Rica, the European Union and its 28 member states, Hong Kong, Iceland, Israel, Japan, Korea, New Zealand, Norway, Singapore, Switzerland, Chinese Taipei, Turkey and the United States.

A range of interested Members continue to examine issues and consider options for an eventual return to negotiations.

Back to top