Skip to main content

Ministerial Advisory Council on FTA Negotiations

The Ministerial Advisory Council (MAC) is an important part of the Australian Government's commitment to enhance transparency around the negotiation of free trade agreements (FTAs).

The Council will provide a forum through which members can exchange views and engage in frank and robust discussion with the Government and senior trade experts on FTAs and the policies that underpin them. The views from the MAC will help inform the Government's trade negotiating agenda.

MAC membership is drawn from a wide cross-section of Australian society, including business and community-based organisations. Individual members are leaders in their fields with an interest in international trade policy.

The MAC is chaired by the Hon Dan Tehan MP, Minister for Trade, Tourism and Investment. The Hon Dr David Gillespie, Minister Assisting the Minister for Trade and Investment and Minister for Regional Health, is also a Member of the MAC. The MAC has an Industry Co-Chair, who is rotated on an annual basis. Ms Christine Holgate, accepted former Minister for Trade, Tourism and Investment, Senator Birmingham's invitation to be the inaugural Industry Co-Chair.

Meeting summaries

Summaries of MAC meeting discussions will be available on this site after each meeting.

Council membership

Name Title, Organisation
The Hon Dan Tehan MP Minister for Trade, Tourism and Investment
The Hon Dr David Gillespie MP Minister Assisting the Minister for Trade and Investment, Minister for Regional Health
Mr Tony Battaglene Chief Executive, Australian Grape and Wine
Ms Laura Berry Chief Executive Officer, Supply Nation
Mr James Bond President, Australian Services Roundtable
Mr Gerard Brody Chair, Consumers' Federation of Australia
Ms Kate Carnell, AO Director and Small Business Advocate
Ms Tania Constable, PSM Chief Executive Officer, Minerals Council of Australia
Prof. Andrew Conway FIPA FFA Chief Executive Officer, Institute of Public Accountants
Ms Bridget Fair, GAICD Chief Executive Officer, Free TV Australia
Mr Scott Farrell Partner, King & Wood Mallesons
Mr Kevin Gallagher Chair, Australian Petroleum Production and Exploration Association
Ms Christine Holgate Industry Co-Chair, Group CEO Toll Global Express
Ms Veronica Papacosta Chief Executive Officer, Seafood Industry Australia
Mrs Fiona Simson President, National Farmers Federation
Mr Andrew Stoler International Trade Consultant
Mr Jason Strong Managing Director, Meat and Livestock Australia
Ms Jacqui Walshe BBS, MBA, GAICD Managing Director, Walshe Group
Mr Dan Walton National Secretary, The Australian Workers' Union
Professor Paul Wellings, CBE Emeritus Professor, University of Wollongong

Contact us



MAC Secretariat
RG Casey Building
John McEwen Crescent
BARTON ACT 0221 Australia

Back to top