

United Kingdom of Great Britain & Northern Ireland Human Rights Council – 41st session UK Joint-Statement with the Equal Rights Coalition on Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity Monday 24 June

Mr President,

I have the honour to deliver this statement on behalf of Argentina and the United Kingdom, in our capacity as joint co-chairs of the Equal Rights Coalition, a grouping of 42 like-minded countries working together to achieve LGBTI equality. The full list of ERC sponsors can be found in the online version.

We thank the Independent Expert for his report, and for setting out the impact that the global shortage of credible or inclusive data has for LGBT and gender diverse people. Your report will become an important international resource, as well as a means of increasing awareness, and driving global action.

We agree with the Independent Expert that criminalization, stigmatization and negation all constitute factors that increase the risk of violence and discrimination based on sexual orientation and gender identity.

We have an unshakable belief that human rights are universal. They must apply equally to all people, in all places, and at all times. We congratulate those countries that have made important progress towards LGBT and gender diverse equality, in particular in ending the criminalization of people for their sexual orientation and gender identity.

We are fully committed to the renewal of your mandate. You, and your predecessor have done what this Council asked of you. You have promoted awareness of the many, terrible aspects of discrimination and violence based on sexual orientation and gender identity. You have

identified and promoted good practices, and maintained a dignified and sincere dialogue with all stakeholders.

We ask all members of the Human Rights Council to recognise the simple truth that violence and discrimination can never be justified on the grounds of sexual orientation or gender identity, and to support the renewal of this important mandate.

Thank you, Mr President.

ERC Co-signatories:

Albania, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Cape Verde, Chile, Costa Rica, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Honduras, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Mexico, Montenegro, Netherlands, New Zealand, North Macedonia, Norway, Portugal, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Uruguay