Skip to main content


Australian Studies Program: Book Prizes

Australian Studies Book Prizes are awarded biennially at the national conference of the Chinese Australian Studies Association. Three prizes are available:

  • for the best work of original scholarship published in Chinese on an Australian topic in the previous two years;
  • for the best work of original scholarship published in English on an Australian topic in the previous two years;
  • for the best translation into Chinese of a work of scholarship about Australia or an Australian literary work published in the previous two years.

The prizes are awarded to recognise and encourage the efforts of researchers, writers and translators working in the field of Australian Studies in China. They are only open to scholars and translators based in China. The judges reserve the right not to award a prize in any particular category or to vary the awards depending on the works submitted.

Previous awards

2016 Book Prizes

For an original work of scholarship

Professor Wang Labao of Soochow University and collaborators for A History of Australian Literary Criticism (China Social Sciences Press, 2015).

For a work of translation

Professor Zhu Jiongqiang of Zhejiang University and collaborators for their translation of Australian fiction in An Anthology of Contemporary Australian Fiction (Zhejiang
Gongshang University Press, 2015).

Gao Ying
(Foundation for Australian Studies in China) was recommended by the judges as joint winner of the translation prize but as an Australian citizen was
ineligible. The judges nevertheless highly commended her translation of Paint Me Black: Memories of Croker Island and Other Journeys by Claire
Henty-Gilbert (Beijing Times Press, 2016).

Special Awards

Dr Ouyang Yu
was awarded a special certificate in recognition of his contributions to Australian Studies in China 2000-2016 through both translations and original
scholarship. His most recent publications are his translation of Robert Hughes’s Nothing If Not Critical: Selected Essays on Art and Artists and a
collection of his own essays and criticism, A History of Literary Exchange between Australia and China.

Professor Li Yao
and his team of translators from Inner Mongolia Normal University were awarded a special commendation for the series of five books by Indigenous
Australians translated and published by Beijing Times Press in 2016 (Gao Ying’s translation also belongs to this series).

2014 Book Prizes

For an original work of scholarship

Professor Zhang Wei of Shandong University at Weihai for The W.H. Donald Files: Adventures of an Australian in Modern China (Tsinghua University Press, 2013).

Professor Zhu Xiaoying of East China Normal University for Helen Garner: A Critical Study (Shanghai Foreign Language Education Press, 2013).

For a work of translation

Ouyang Yu for his translation of The Fatal Shore: A History of the Transportation of Convicts to Australia 1787-1868 by Robert Hughes (Nanjing University Press, 2014).

2012 Book Prizes

For an original work of scholarship

Professor Xiang Xiaohong (editor) and colleagues from Xihua University for The History of Australian Women’s Writing (China Social Science Publishing Press, 2011).

For a work of translation

Professor Li Yao for his translation of Alexis Wright’s Carpentaria (People’s Literature Publishing House, 2012).

Special Book Prize for translation

Professor Huang Yuanshen and Professor Wang Guanglin and translators from the Shanghai Institute of Foreign Trade for their series of translations of ten Australian novels by Thomas Keneally, Elizabeth Jolley, David Malouf, Brian Castro, Christopher Koch, Thea Astley, Peter Carey, Frank Moorhouse and Archie Weller (Shanghai Translation Publishing House, 2010).

2010 Book Prizes

For the 2009-2010 period, no suitable works were submitted in the ‘original' category but that there were two outstanding works in the translation category. Therefore two translation prizes were awarded and one High Commendation, also for a translation. The winners received a return airfare to Australia.

The two winners were:

Professor Zhang Wei, from Shandong University at Weihai, for the translation of Eric Rolls's, Citizens: Flowers and the Wide Sea. Translated as The History of Australian Chinese (1888-1995), published by Zhongshan University Press in 2009.

Professor Zhang Yongxian leading a team of translators from Renmin University, for their translation of David Walker's, Anxious Nation: Australia and the Rise of Asia 1850-1939, published by China Renmin University Press, 2009.

The judges were impressed both by the quality of the translations and the significance of the works which had been selected for translation, and the importance of the contribution they would make to Australian Studies in China.

Highly commended was Professor Zhu Jiongqiang, from Zhejiang University, whose translation of Patrick White's The Eye of the Storm was published in a new edition, from Yilin Press in 2009.

2008 Book Prizes

Original Work


Australian Literary Criticism, by Chen Hong (East China Normal University) with Chen Feiniand Fan Lin, Shanghai Literature and Arts Publishing House.


Studies on the World’s Nations: Australia, by Shen Yongxing, Zhang Qiuisheng and Gao Gourong (Xuzhou Normal University), 2nd Edition, China Social Sciences Publishing House, Beijing.



An Australian in China (G H Morrison), translated by Dou Kun (Beijing Academy of Social Sciences), Fujian Education Press.


  • The Red Thread (Nicolas Jose), translated by Li Yao and Huan Zhong, The People’s Literature Publishing House, Beijing.
  • Contemporary Australian Poetry (new anthology), Selected by Ouyang Yu and John Kinsella,translated by Ouyang Yu, Shanghai Literature and Arts Publishing House

2006 Book Prizes

A prize of $5,000 was awarded to Huang Yejing and Ouyang Huanzi from the Shanghai Academy of Social Sciences. No translation prize was awarded; instead $10,000 was awarded to a new large-scale literary translation project directed by Professor Huang Yuanshen from the Shanghai Institute of Foreign Trade.

The winning publication was:

Huang Yejing and Ouyang Huanzi, Aodaliya xiandaihua fazhan jingyan ji qi dui zhongguo de qishi [The Experience of Australia’s Modernization: Implications for China]. Shanghai Academy of Social Sciences Press, 2005.

In addition, three other works were highly recommended and received award certificates:

  • Hou Minyue, The Impact of China’s Modernisation on Relations with Australia. Shanghai yiwen chubanshe, 2005
  • Zhu Jiongqiang, Huajian lueying [A Glimpse of English Literature]. Zhejiang jiaoyue chubanshe, 2005
  • Dou Kun, Molishun yu qingmo minchu de zhongguo [Dr GE Morrison and Modern China from the Late Qing to the Early Republican Periods] Fujian Education Press, 2005

2004 Book Prizes

Two prizes worth $5,000 each were awarded in February 2004 for the best books published in Chinese on Australian themes over the previous two years (2002 and 2003). One prize was for an original work and one for a translation.

The Australia-China Council awarded the 2004 Australian Studies Book Prizes to:

  • Professor Zhang Wei & Deng Tianying, Hebei UniversityThe Media in Australia (Beijing: Peking University Press, 2002) – Original Work.
  • Australian Studies Centre of Xiamen University"Special Issue on "The Australian Economy after the Asian Economic Crisis" published in Honour of the Thirtieth Anniversary of China-Australia Relations." Journal of Translation from Foreign Literatures of Economics, Vol 3 No.113 (2002) – Translation

2001-2 Australian Studies Book Prize

The Australia-China Council is pleased to announce the award for the 2001-2 Australian Studies Book Prize.  The winner is:

  • Professor Du Xuezeng, Beijing Foreign Studies University
  • Australian Language and Culture–澳大利亞語言與文化
Back to top